Call for Submissions: The Chicago Tribune’s Annual Nelson Algren Short Story Award Contest (deadline: 1/31/2015)


Fiction writers! Please see below for details on the Trib’s annual short story contest.

Entries will be accepted until 11:59 p.m. on Saturday, Jan. 31, 2015.

The Nelson Algren Literary Awards starts at 10:01 p.m. (CT) on Dec. 1, 2014, and ends at 11:59 p.m. Saturday, Jan. 31, 2015. By June 1st, 2015, a panel of judges will select 10 winners (one grand prize winner, four finalists and five runners up).

All entries must be:

  • Fiction
  • Less than 8,000 words
  • Double spaced
  • Written in English

One grand prize winner will receive $3,500. Four finalists will each receive $1,000. Five runners-up will each receive $500. Total value of all prizes: $10,000.

Your name and contact information MUST NOT appear on any page of your story.

If you are submitting two entries, please submit each entry separately. NOTE: Only 2 entries are allowed per person. 

Visit the Submittable page to submit and for further details.